Promoted by CBF, e-Brasileirão opens registrations and will have two formats this year

Photo: Thais Magalhães/CBF

The e-Brasileirão, a virtual football championship promoted by the Brazilian Football Confederation (CBF), opened registration on August 6. After six seasons, the competition arrives with a few changes and two formats this year.

The first novelty refers to the e-Brasileirão PRO in partnership with Konami. For the first time, this tournament will bring together only professional players. According to the GE, Rock in Rio will receive the final stage of this litigation. While the second format will take place in an Open Edition in the same style as previous years.

e-Brazilian PRO

The new dispute format will have two phases. The first will be fully online on August 19, 20 and 21 with 35 teams. The teams will be divided into brackets and will face each other in home and away matches, all against all, until the four semi-finalists are known. The next phase system, however, will be different.

Scheduled for September 2 and 3, the final phase will include a quadrangle in which everyone will once again measure their strengths. In this stage, players will play individual matches at the same time, each result will influence the overall value of points and goals for the decision. Matches will be set blind, with each team determining who will play without knowing which opposing player is in front of them.

After the first online phase, CBF and Konami will organize the decisive quadrangular of the e-Brasileirão PRO during Rock in Rio. The music festival will host matches at the Game Play Arena for two days (September 2 and 3). Recalling that this will be the first time that the final of the competition will not take place at the official headquarters of the CBF.

Champions in the history of e-Brasileirão

In the six editions of the digital football championship promoted by the CBF, three participants have already won the coveted Champions Cup. Guilherme Fonseca (GuiFera) is the highlight with three titles (2016, 2020 and 2021), Henrique Mesquita (HenrykhO) won twice (2017 and 2018) and Thiago Avaré was the winner in 2019.

According to information from the official profile of the competition, the champion of the 2022 edition will receive R$25,000 and the runner-up will pocket R$5,000.


Comments are closed.