NZ Spatial Excellence Awards finalists announced


Image Credit: © / au / Norman Chan

TThe list of finalists for the 2021 NZ Spatial Excellence Awards has been announced.

Originally, the winners were to be announced at a cocktail party in November this year, but disruption and restrictions caused by the COVID pandemic resulted in the event being postponed until early 2022.

The industry award finalists are:

Community impact award

  • Ecological Connectivity Strategies – Boffa Miskell and Auckland Council
  • Ngā Poutama Matawhenua | Practical mapping of Maori Wānanga GIS: ToitÅ« Te Whenua Land Information New Zealand, Journey GIS Ltd and Te Kāhui Manu Hōkai, the Māori GIS Association Te Kāhui Manu Hōkai, Journey GIS Ltd
  • New Zealand Broadband Card – InternetNZ.

Environment and sustainability award

  • Landkind – Landkind
  • Piritahi House – Kāinga Ora Move Sustainability Program
  • Ruru – Conservation Information System – Auckland Council and GBS

Innovation Award – Medium and Large Company

  • Response Framework for Asset Valuation (AAF) – Christchurch City Council
  • New use of satellites, planes and ships to map Tonga – ToitÅ« Te Whenua LINZ

Innovation Award – Small Business

  • Visual Property Assessment Tool – Stantec and Wellington Water Limited
  • Tasman District River Surveys – Fox and Associates
  • Landkind – Landkind

Prize for space clearance

  • Ruru – Conservation Information System – Auckland Council and GBS
  • SwitchMyFleet – Critchlow Geospatial
  • Asset Resilience Management Tool – Stantec and Tauranga City Council

Technical excellence award

  • SwitchMyFleet – Critchlow Geospatial
  • Tasman District River Surveys – Fox and Associates.

Individual award finalists will be notified separately and announced at the event. The prices are hosted by APEA and presented by Space and Space New Zealand.

Stay up to date by receiving stories like this in your inbox.
Sign up to receive our free weekly Spatial Source newsletter.


Leave A Reply